All the past Strictly winners from previous series

  • 4 min read
  • Aug 11, 2022

All the past Strictly winners from previous series

Rose Eileen Ellis, Giovanni Pernice on Strictly 2021

Rose Ayling-Ellis and Giovanni Pernice are the reigning Strictly champions – but who will be next? (Image: BBC)

The 20th series of Strictly Come Dancing is set to begin in September, meaning another celebrity will soon be the proud owner of the famous glitter ball.

A host of famous faces are taking part in this year’s competition, including Will Mellor, Kim Marsh, Ellie Simmonds and Brothers singer Matt Goss.

Who will win will be decided after three grueling months where the dancers practice every day with their professional partners.

And while we still have some time to wait before the new series begins, here’s a look at past Strictly Come Dancing winners…

Series 1 – Natasha Kaplinski and Brendan Cole

Brendan and Natasha were the first winners of the Glitterball trophy when Strictly began, with the series running from 15 May to 3 July 2004 over the spring and summer.

Second place: Christopher Parker and Hannah Cartonen

Third place: Leslie Garrett and Anton de Beke

Series 2 – Jill Halfney and Darren Bennett

Ex-EastEnders actress Jill won the title after starring alongside Darren Bennett who hailed ‘the best’. The series aired from October 23 to December 11, 2004.

Second place: Dennis Lewis and Ian wait

Third place: Julian Clary and Erin Boag

Series 3 – Darren Gough and Lilia Kopilova

Darren and Lilia took over Glitterball as the series moved into its more familiar Fall/Winter setting, which ran from October 15th to December 17th, 2005.

Second place: Colin Jackson and Erin Bogue

Third place: Zoe Ball and Ian Witt

Series 4 – Mark Ramprakash and Karen Hardy

Former cricketer Mark Ramprakash danced his way to victory with Karen Hardy in the series which ran from 7 October to 23 December 2006.

Second place: Matt Dawson and Lilia Kopilova

Third place: Emma Bunton and Darren Bennett

Series 5 – Alesha Dixon and Matthew Cutler

Alesha Dixon won the title and was subsequently placed on the judging panel. The series aired from October 6 to December 22, 2007.

Second place: Matt D’Angelo and Flavia Cacasse

Third place: Gethin Jones and Camilla Dalrup

Series 6 – Tom Chambers and Camilla Dalrap

Holby City and Casualty star Tom Chambers was the 2008 champion in the series which ran from 20 September to 20 December 2008.

Second place: Rachel Stevens and Vincent Simone

Third place: Lisa Snowdon and Brendan Cole

Series 7 – Chris Hollins and Olla Jordan

TV host Chris Hollins went all the way with pro dancer Ola Jordan — and a memorable Charleston — in the series that aired from September 18 to December 19, 2009.

Second place: Ricky Whittle and Natalie Lowe

Third place: Ali Bastian and Brian Fortuna

Series 8 – Cara Twinton and Artem Chigvintsev

Cara and Artem competed against TV host Matt Baker to win the title for the series, which aired from October 1 to December 18, 2010.

Second place: Matt Baker and Aliona Villani

Third place: Pamela Stephenson and James Jordan

Series 9 – Harry Judd and Aliona Villani

McFly’s Harry Judd scored a stunning victory in the series that ran from September 30 to December 17, 2011.

Second place: Chelsea Haley and Pasha Kovalev

Third place: Jason Donovan and Christina Rihanov

Series 10 – Louis Smith and Flavia Kakas

Olympic medalist Louis Smith also showed off some great legs on Strictly, winning the series which ran from 5 October to 22 December 2012.

joint second place: Dennis Van Outen and James Jordan and Kimberly Walsh and Pasha Kovalev

Series 11 – Abbey Clancy and Alloy Skorjank

Abbey and Aljaz were the deserving winners of the series which ran from 27 September to 21 December 2013.

joint second place: Natalie Gumed and Artem Chigvintsev and Susanna Reed and Kevin Clifton

Series 12 – Caroline Fleck and Pasha Kovalev

Caroline Fleck and Pasha Kovalev won the series, which ran from September 26 to December 20, 2014, with some beautiful routines.

joint second place: Frankie Bridge and Kevin Clifton and Simon Webb and Christina Rihanov

Series 13 – Jay McGuinness and Aliona Villani

Jay McGuinness from The Wanted gave us an iconic game and won the series which ran from 25th September to 19th December 2015.

joint second place: Georgia May Foote and Giovanni Pernice and Kelly Bright and Kevin Clifton

Series 14 – Ore Oduba and Joanne Clifton

Another classic song was from Ore Oduba, which went on to headline the series which ran from September 23 to December 17, 2016.

joint second place: Danny Mac and Oti Mabus and Louise Redknapp and Kevin Clifton.

Series 15 – Joe McFadden and Katia Jones

Actor Joe McFadden scored an impressive victory in the series, which ran from September 23 to December 16, 2017.

joint second place: Alexandra Burke and Gorka Marks and Debbie McGee and Giovanni Pernice and Gemma Atkinson and Alaj Skorjank.

Series 16 – Stacey Dooley and Kevin Clifton

Stacey Dooley swapped documentaries for the dance floor in the series, which aired from September 22 to December 15, 2018, and took home the award.

joint second place: Ashley Roberts and Pasha Kovalev and Joe Sugg and Diane Boswell and Fay Tozer and Giovanni Pernice.

Series 17 – Kelvin Fletcher and Otti Mabus

Emmerdale actor Kelvin Fletcher made a late arrival to replace Jamie Laing, who had to pull out due to injury – and won the entire series, which ran from 24 September to 14 December 2019.

joint second place: Karim Zeroal and Amy Dowden and Emma Barton and Anton du Beke.

Series 18 – Bill Bailey and Otti Mabus

The 2020 series was shorter than usual due to the pandemic – but comedian Bill Bailey continued to take top honors, handing Oti Mabus his second straight win. This series aired from October 24 to December 19, 2020.

joint second place: Maisie Smith & Gorka Marquez & HRVY & Janette Manrara & Jamie Laing & Karen Hauer.

Series 19 – Rose Ayling Ellis and Giovanni Pernice

As things return to something more normal in 2021, EastEnders actress Rose Ayling-Ellis took home the award – with her silence gap during the couple selection show and Giovanni Pernice won her awards. This series aired from September 25 to December 18, 2021.

Second place: John White and Johannes Radbe. AJ Odudu and Kai Widdrington also reached the finals but AJ withdrew due to injury.

Strictly Come Dancing returns to BBC One in September.

MORE: Strictly Come Dancing fans can’t contain their excitement as Matt Goss is confirmed for 2022 line-up: ‘It makes me sad’

MORE: ‘I love it!’: Strictly Come Dancing fake announcements that rock the public and Rylan Clarke

Follow Metro on our social channels, on Facebook, twitter and Instagram

Share your thoughts in the comments below